made it to minnesota

I’m in Minnesota for about a week with my family. Having lots of fun — I really, really miss living close to them. I’m going to have to work on convincing Ben that we should move to MN someday. Hey, Minneapolis-St Paul is really cool, right? Haha. We’ll see about that. 

I was supposed to fly here on Monday night, but that day did NOT go as planned. To say the least. My flight was delayed, and I was confused about all the different options & possibilities …. it just seemed really overwhelming and I did not want to deal with it. I ended up waiting in a lot of lines, for quite some time, and finally decided just to rebook for the next morning. I did get them to extend my trip so I would come home a day later than planned, so I would still have a week-long visit … and I got a $10 meal ticket in lieu of an apology for “any inconvenience,” so I’m not complaining about that. But it was kind of a lengthy and stressful experience.

Then we came home and were both grumpy because of all the craziness. I made dinner and we were just sitting down to salad while the steak finished up when –

BREEEP BREEEP BREEEP

Fire alarm. Yes, it sounded that loud. Probably louder. In three years of marriage this was the first time I’d ever set off the fire alarm while cooking. Unfortunately we live in a building where the fire alarm going off automatically calls the fire department. Despite Ben calling in to let them know it was a false alarm, about 5 minutes later I heard sirens and the next thing I knew there were four firemen trooping through my apartment and taking in the whole scene: half-eaten salad, subdued me, and of course that stupid, stupid steak. Everything was fine (except for the pervasive odor of very well-seared steak), but it took a long time to figure out how to reset the alarm. When we finally got to bed, I didn’t have too many hours before I had to get up and repeat the whole getting-to-the-airport performance.

So that was quite a day. But I’m happy to report that my trip the next morning went extremely well. Lots of legroom, met quite a few friendly people including a man from Trinidad whom I sat with in the Chicago-O’Hare airport for about an hour and talked travel, books & NPR with … plus quality time with my beloved books & magazines, coffee & a bagel from Starbucks, etc. It was pretty fun. :) I really do enjoy flying, at least when it goes semi-smoothly.

And now I’m hanging out with my extremely cool and awesome family! I’m having a blast. Probably won’t be posting every day this week or anything, but I’ll be around.

Hope you all are having a good week!

XO
Bethany

 

Leave a Reply

