In progress…

Hey everyone,

I’m not dead. I have just been having a very busy week.

Remember that bathroom re-do I was talking about last week? Well, it’s on. Like donkey kong. (If anyone knows what that means, please let me know.) I’ve been so busy with work all week that I haven’t been able to start until today, but the bathroom is currently a disaster and there are wallpaper particles EVERYWHERE. It’s a giant mess. Which is a good thing, since messes are usually an indicator that something is happening. Oorrrr that I’m really lazy and don’t pick up after myself. But in this case, fortunately, it is the former.

It’s already starting to look so different in there although I’ve only done one wall out of the four (but it’s one of the long ones!) — and the ceiling is still untouched. With the walls looking so much cleaner, the green-striped ceiling is looking worse than ever. I am growing to hate it more and more with every passing second and soon I will have accumulated so much rage against the green stripes that nothing will be able to protect them against my white-hot DIY fury.

It’s pretty exciting in here today, for sure. In order to not get high on wallpaper remover fumes I have all the windows wide open for optimal ventilation. Wellllll, it’s also March in Virginia Beach. It’s 80 degrees, everything is blooming, and in spite of my brand spankin’ new (and very expensive!!) Singulaire prescription my allergies are in full swing. So it’s either close the windows and possibly pass out from whatever-the-heck-is-in-wallpaper-remover, or open the windows and breathe in all that pollen and sneeze myself unconscious. Either way, I’ll be unconscious. Or at least that’s the way I imagine it happening…

But in reality, I’m sure I will be very much conscious through the whole process and able to fully appreciate the wonderful time afforded by wallpaper removal, holding one’s hands over one’s head for long periods of time while balancing on a rickety chair, and frequent violent sneezing. Yep. Good times.

I can’t wait to finish up with at least the first stage of this project and post pictures for you guys, so I guess I’d better get back to the awesomeness I just described to you.

See you on the other side.

Leave a Reply

