Chicken chilaquiles

Hey everyone! How was your weekend? Mine was busy, but surprisingly fun. Ben and I hosted a large retreat (50 men and boys) here from Friday night to Saturday morning. It was craaaazy. I did the food service, which meant I was in the kitchen from 2:30 to 12:30 Friday night and back in the kitchen at 5:45 Saturday morning. Wow. It went really well though, and everyone seemed to have a great time. Then Ben and I went back to bed and slept pretty much all Saturday afternoon. :-)

Saturday night Ben and I had a super fun date night which included a play, a bookstore, and two restaurants. It was a blast!

And yesterday, besides going to two church services and having a friend over for dinner, we cleaned our apartment (finally!!). I have got to get on a better cleaning schedule because I try to do all the cleaning at once, and with my crazy schedule that just doesn’t work. So this week my goal is to do a little each day. We’ll see how it goes. :-P

I have a recipe for chicken chilaquiles to share with you today. It’s another one from one of my favorite cookbooks, Martha Stewart’s Great Food Fast. I looked around the web and apparently you can make chicken chilaquiles a few different ways (i.e., Food & Wine bakes it), but I really like the Martha Stewart version, which is kind of like sophisticated nachos. You eat it just like nachos, but the flavors of fresh cilantro and chipotle chiles in adobo sauce make it more interesting and a little bit more grown-up than ordinary nachos.

After making it twice, I pretty much love this recipe. One, because it’s YUMMY. Two, because it’s extremely easy. You can make the whole thing in one pot, it doesn’t require a lot of ingredients, and it comes together fast. It’s also fun to eat and Ben loves it, so I’m sold.The only downside is that the sauce is very liquid-y which can turn the chips on the bottom into mush. I don’t find that to be a big problem, and I serve it with extra chips for scooping. Eating it is pretty messy, but that’s just part of the fun!

The ingredients are pretty straightforward. The only kind of unique ingredient on the list is canned chipotle chiles in adobo sauce. It took me the longest time to find this stuff, but I finally tracked it down at a larger grocery store like 10 minutes from my house. :-P I guess you just have to know where to look! You should be able to find it in a grocery store with a good-sized Hispanic foods section, or I’m sure you could find it in a specialty grocery store.

I made a change or two to Martha’s version of the recipe, so if you want to see the original go here. And here’s my version (I use chicken breasts which I cook myself instead of rotisserie chicken, diced tomatoes instead of whole, and skip the feta cheese – you can’t really taste it in the finished dish).

CHICKEN CHILAQUILES

  • 1 small cooked rotisserie chicken (about 1 3/4 pounds), OR 2-3 chicken breasts
  • 1 Tbsp olive oil
  • 4 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 1 can (28 ounces) diced tomatoes
  • 2 canned chipotle chilies in adobo, finely chopped (about 1 heaping tablespoon), plus 1 tablespoon adobo sauce (from same can)
  • Coarse salt
  • 1/2 cup lightly packed cilantro leaves, plus extra to sprinkle on top
  • 4 cups (about 3 ounces) tortilla chips
  • 1/4 cup reduced-fat sour cream

1. If using rotisserie chicken, remove skin and carcass and shred the chicken. If using chicken breasts (2 if they are larger, like bone-in breasts, and 3 if they are smaller) put in a pot (3-4 qt) and cover with water. Poach until the chicken is cooked through; drain. When the chicken is cool enough to touch, shred.

2. In the same pot, saute the garlic in the olive oil until light brown and fragrant, 1-2 minutes.

3. Add the tomatoes, the chopped chipotle chiles and adobo sauce, and 1 cup water. Bring to a boil; season with coarse-ground salt. Reduce heat and simmer, uncovered, until slightly thickened, 6 to 8 minutes.

4. Add the chicken and cook until heated through, about 1 minute. Remove from heat.

5. Stir in the cilantro.

6. Put chips on each plate. Top with the chicken mixture, sour cream, and cilantro leaves. Serve immediately (with additional chips if you like). Serves 3-4.

There ya go! Hope you have a great Monday!!

One comment

Leave a Reply

