If necessity is the mother of invention…

…then ingenuity must be the babydaddy.

Last week my brother-in-law Jon had a birthday and Ben and I picked up some surfing gear for his present cause he is really into surfing. I do pretty much all the present-wrapping in our family, but I never seem to have enough wrapping paper or gift bags on hand, so when it came time to wrap the gift, as usual I didn’t have what I needed. No wrapping paper, no gift bags, and no way to get them (Ben had the car out that whole day). Great — now what?

So I did some thinking, and remembered that I did have this …. a folder of pages I tore out of some surfer magazines I picked up for free when our public library was getting rid of them. I thought they’d come in handy for something.

Then I found a sturdy box to hold the gift. I was going to use the surfer mag clippings to create wrapping paper …. sort of. I’m sure your next question is “how in the world?” … that IS your next question, right? Well, the answer is … MOD to the PODGE, baby!!!

I hadn’t used Mod Podge in so long … it was like a blast from the past. It’s actually kind of fun though. It is both a glue and a sealant. I just brushed it on the back of the pics I had and stuck them on my box collage-style.

FAST FORWARD ….. once I had the pics glued to my liking, I brushed more mod podge over the top. That seals all the layers in and makes them nice and shiiiiiiiny. :) Here it is finished.

So that’s it. I was pretty happy with how it turned out. Not a bad substitute for wrapping paper, I think. It was fun to make it, and gave me a break from school.

And speaking of school …. I’M DONE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :) Finished Friday. And tomorrow I leave for Minnesota to spend a week with my family. So yeah, things are happening fast around here.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

