Summer salads

Good morning, people. I am taking a quick break from studying and writing to post about salad. I can’t get salad out of my mind right now. It just seems like the perfect springtime food. Salad greens make such a great canvas on which to display your favorite foods. :) I like to use romaine or baby spinach. Last night I did my grocery shopping, and I picked up 3 nice fat romaine hearts. So I’m ready for some serious salad-making and even more serious salad-eating.

I gathered some yummy-looking salad recipes from around the web. Hope you enjoy! I know I can’t wait to try a few of these. No, make that all of these.

Tortellini and Spring Vegetable Salad from The Kitchn.

Southwestern Salad from Real Simple. I love the idea of the simple creamy chili-lime dressing.

Epicurious has this recipe for Cobb Salad that looks like something you can sink your teeth into. Iceberg, tomato, avocado, bacon and blue cheese? Yes please.

Strawberry and Feta Salad from Closet Cooking. Here in Virginia, strawberry season is just around the corner! I can’t wait.

Diced Caprese Salad with Pesto Dressing from Closet Cooking. I have to try this one! I love caprese salad. This take on it, while maybe not as visually striking as the usual stack of cheese and tomato slices, seems like it would amp the flavor up x1000.

For more salad ideas, you should check out this post from The Kitchn. Lots of unique salad ideas incorporating chicken, tuna, pasta, grains, and beans. Plenty of inspiration there!

Now it’s time to make salad.

Leave a Reply

