Decorating inspiration: the ocean

I posted a few weeks ago about the campaign to decorate my bedroom, which currently is ultra-boring and undecorated, in deep blue and gray with lots of texture … find that post here. Here’s the inspiration board I made for the bedroom makeover; I’m still really liking it and planning to stick to it for the most part.

That project is moving along verrrrrry slowwwwly thanks to our tiny home decorating budget, but that’s OK! I’m taking lots of time to think of pieces I will love for a long time. And we have made a little progress, which I should be able to post about soon.

It seems like the whole look I’m envisioning for the bedroom is using colors drawn from the ocean. For the last few years I have not been into the color blue at all, but now suddenly it’s creeping into my life again. Not bright blues or mid-tone blues, but less common (maybe more complex?) blues like very pale blue and deep, dark midnight blue. And for my bedroom I’m digging the combination of blue and gray, with some white/cream thrown in. Just like the colors of the sea.

I’m not sure what to think about ocean-inspired decor. I think the ocean is beautiful, but I live near the beach and it seems like so much of the decor around here is SUPER kitschy, beachy, flip-flops-and-starfish kind of stuff. It’s really overdone, and I want to stay as far away from that as possible. So you won’t find any driftwood sculptures in my finished room. You can count on that.

I came across this print that I think would be beautiful over the bed. It’s so peaceful, and the unique shape makes something familiar — a seascape — seem fresh. It’s by Laura Bell and is available for purchase from 20×200. Unfortunately the larger sizes (which is what I would want) are RATHER expensive! So for now it’s just something to enjoy and be inspired by.

Gorgeous, huh? I don’t know what it is about it, but it seems to draw me in. Too bad I can’t buy it, but I’m sure there are other options out there for ocean art. Maybe I could even DIY something like it one day … especially since we live 20 minutes from a real live beach!

Speaking of the beach, in the “odd news” category, a dead sei whale washed up at Sandbridge (the beach closest to us) here in Virginia Beach this past Sunday. Nobody knows why, but everyone has been talking about it. Apparently it’s an endangered species too. Poor little whaley whale (OK, not little, it’s 35-40 ft long).

Leave a Reply

